[Guest post] Book a ticket and go!

Gostaria de ler esse post em Português? Clique aqui.

Hi everybody, Hector gave me the chance (and honour) to express myself so these lines are for you if you are a strong 21st century woman looking for adventure. Of course, understanding and not judgemental men are also allowed to read and comment this post.

We (women) are often finding excuses to postpone what we really want to do in our life. Never the right moment, nor the right place. Not enough money (but enough to buy the latest pair of shoes), nor the right person to travel with. And if we are single, travelling alone is scary. You know what? Just STOP thinking and remember what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

Why should you book a ticket?

  • You’re gonna discover unexpected landscapes. Trust me, the world is full of surprises. You’ll see and remember every detail, every colour and smells of incredible places. You’ll have the opportunity to see “in real” what is being seen only as images on TV programs or postcards. During my trips, I was standing there gaping in front of animals in their natural environment (seals in Ireland, condors in Patagonia, marmots in the Alps, llamas in Peru).

Lhama in Peru

Lhama in Peru

Machu Picchu in Peru

Machu Picchu in Peru

I’m not a “city” girl but how could I not be astonished by the monuments in Rome or Paris? And sometimes, yes sometimes, you like places but you don’t really know why. The light? The weather? The guy playing great music at the corner of a small street? Who knows?

  • You’ll live 1000 things per day, feel free and your emotions will be multiply by ten. When I was living abroad, I could cry and five minutes later laugh and realize how ridiculous I was. I was just living the present time, feeling every minute of happiness and joy.

  • To challenge yourself. Cause yes, being a woman in this crazy world is not always easy. I’ve realized this only when I came back home. And now, I just want to travel again and again. Every time that I come back I have this satisfaction and desire to discover a new destination. You should trust your instinct and satisfy your curiosity, it’s never too late. Breaking my habits and losing my bearings were the best things I’ve ever done. The thing that I am more proud? Swimming with rays and sharks, an experience that I will always remember.

Swimming with sharks in French Polynesia

Swimming with sharks in French Polynesia

  • You’ll see another reality and find other manners to think and live. People that I’ve met had different cultures than mine, so it helped a lot to stand back and have new perspectives. In my country, for example, people are (in general) stressed and complaining a lot so it’s good to see how the others are living. In some parts of the world, people are warmer, more welcoming and smiling, organized, sincere and honest.

  • Eat and try incredible specialities. This is one of the best reasons to travel. Belgian and Swiss chocolates, Chilean ceviche and empanadas, Irish breakfast, pizzas and lasagnas in Italy, Brazilian cachaça, German beers, Spanish paella, Portuguese cod and potato, Peruvian hot peppers (that make me cry), I love them all ! I have to admit…I am definitively a foodie.

Peruvian pepper

Peruvian hot peppers

  • Professionally speaking it’s a plus. I was scared that being abroad for a long time could create a gap in my CV and close some doors for my future jobs. But actually, it was the contrary. I’ve opened my mind and learnt new languages and now, I can easily justify it during my jobs interviews.

  • You’ll feel as a stranger. I know what you are thinking; being a stranger is not good. But look at the positive part. In my own country, people aren’t concerned about me, or should I say not surprised when I meet them for the first time. Am I an uninteresting girl? I hope not… it’s just that we are one among the others. Abroad, people are more curious about where you’re from, what you like, why you’re there.

Last but not least: you’ll meet people from everywhere. You will make friends, have fun. You’ll debate a dish recipe for so long that you could have time to try all the ways of cooking it. You will discuss words pronunciations and never agree with the correct one. But you’ll see, you will be amazed by how we can be so different in the same time and how we can share so much in common in the other time and maybe….yes maybe…you’ll live the unexpected meeting (THE ONE) You may say I’m a dreamer? …yes…but I’m not the only one.

SOCIAL MEDIA

fb-icon twitter-icon instagram-icon pinterest-icon google-plus-icon
2 thoughts on “[Guest post] Book a ticket and go!

  1. May I simply say what a comfort to find somebody who genuinely
    understands what they are discussing on the internet.
    You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More people really need to check this out and understand this side of
    the story. I was surprised that you are not more popular given that you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

